FAQ Vaccination

Deployment strategy

What is the vaccination process?

Persons identified on the basis of the order of priority to which they are assigned are invited by mail to be vaccinated.

Each invitation includes a personalised access code that allows the beneficiary to make an appointment online.

Citizens can choose their vaccination centre and preferred time slot (subject to availability of appointments) online. When making an appointment, the citizen must provide some information about his or her state of health.

In addition, people will be able to contact the Health Helpline (+352 247 65533) to get assistance in the process of making an appointment.

On the day of the vaccination, the patient reports to the reception desk of the vaccination centre with their confirmation letter, an identification document and their social security card. The reception desk checks the information and completes it if necessary. The patient then has a consultation with a physician, who discusses the patient's information with the patient. The physician completes the second part of the vaccination questionnaire, chooses the most suitable vaccine and prints the vaccination certificate. If, following the vaccination, the patient experiences any adverse effects in the rest area, he or she will be cared for by staff at the centre and his or her effects of the vaccination will be documented.

Appointments for people with medical vulnerabilities will be arranged in consultation with the person's general practitioner.

I am a cross-border commuter working in Luxembourg, where will I be vaccinated?

Each EU country receives the vaccines according to the number of residents. You will therefore receive your vaccine in the country you live in.

General

What vaccines are currently available against COVID-19?

4 coronavirus vaccines have received marketing authorisation from the EMA, the European Medicines Agency, and the green light from the European Commission for their use. This process is very important as it ensures the safety and quality of the vaccines as well as their effectiveness.

On 21 December 2020, the EMA issued a positive opinion on the BioNtech/Pfizer vaccine, which was subsequently approved by the European Commission. This vaccine was administered for the first time in Luxembourg on 28 December 2020. Meanwhile, the vaccine from Moderna was also approved on 6 January 2021, and our country was the first EU Member State to be supplied with Moderna vaccines. The AstraZeneca vaccine was approved by the EMA on 29 January 2021. The Jansen vaccine was approved on 11 March and will soon be distributed in Luxembourg and the EU Member States. Our country currently has 3 safe coronavirus vaccines that can be administered as part of its vaccination strategy.

Other COVID-19 vaccines are still in the process of being submitted for approval by the EMA. These include the Curevac vaccine, Novavax and Sputnik V. 

Is the coronavirus vaccine safe?

COVID-19 vaccines are developed according to the same strict regulatory requirements for pharmaceutical quality, safety and efficacy, as any other drug.

Before being released on the market, the vaccine goes through several stages, from rigorous tests where the quality of the vaccine is controlled to approval by the European Medicines Agency (EMA), through a scientific evaluation by the regulatory authorities (EMA and other regulators in EU/EEA countries) before its effectiveness is tested through research first in the laboratory and then on volunteers. It should be noted that the clinical trial programme must be carried out in accordance with the procedures and protocols established by the regulatory authorities. It must also be approved in each case by a medical ethics commission.

Who is responsible if COVID-19 vaccines have a negative impact on public health?

As with any other vaccine, it is the manufacturer of the vaccine that is, in principle, responsible in the event of any adverse public health effects. However, the adverse effect must be due to a problem with the product itself, its composition or production.

The physician who carries out the vaccination is also civilly liable if he or she makes a mistake in handling or administering the vaccine, and if this mistake is the cause of the side effects.

Finally, when a vaccination is imposed by a legal or regulatory provision or recommended by the State, and that vaccination causes the death of the vaccinated person or results in permanent physical incapacity, the State is liable for the damage, without prejudice to any action that may be taken in accordance with ordinary law, and insofar as the damage is not compensable under the Social Insurance Code.

 

Will vaccination against COVID-19 be compulsory?

No. As with most vaccines in our country, vaccination against COVID-19 will be carried out on a voluntary basis.

I have already had COVID-19, can I still get vaccinated?

A person who has been in contact with the coronavirus can be vaccinated against it. At present, it is impossible to say that a person who has already been in contact with COVID-19 remains immune to the disease. It is also not possible, in the case of immunisation, to predict the duration of this immunisation. Unfortunately, reinfections have been reported.

Is a screening test necessary before getting vaccinated?

No, it is not necessary to get tested for COVID-19 before vaccination. Even if you are unknowingly infected, the vaccine can be administered safely.

Does the vaccine also protect against mutations of the virus?

Mutations do not necessarily affect the efficacy of the vaccine against the virus.

The scientific community and regulatory authorities are monitoring whether the coronavirus is changing over time and whether vaccines can protect people against infection with new variants. If it turns out that adjustments need to be made, science will provide an answer to this question, as it does for other viruses to which we have adapted.

Do I have to be vaccinated against coronavirus every year?

It is not possible at this stage to answer this question, as we do not have sufficient hindsight to know exactly how long the immunisation obtained with the vaccine lasts, whether it covers the various mutations of the virus or whether these require the composition of the vaccine to be regularly modified, as is the case, for example, with seasonal influenza. 

After vaccination, am I immediately immune?

About 2 weeks after the first dose of vaccine, the initial immune response provides partial protection against an infection. However, it takes 2 weeks after the second dose of vaccine for the immune response to be fully developed and for an optimal protection against an infection.

As with other vaccines, the COVID-19 vaccine does not provide 100% protection even after the second vaccination. It is still possible to become infected. Vaccination will reduce the symptoms of the disease.

It is important to continue to respect the protective measures in order to avoid as many infections as possible.​

Can I stop following the protective measures after I have been vaccinated?

No. Even after you have been vaccinated, you must continue to respect the protective measures until the health crisis is effectively under control, in particular through herd immunity. It cannot be ruled out at present that a vaccinated person may no longer be a carrier of the virus. However, it will take some time before this immunity is achieved. It ensures that a sufficiently large number of people are immunised. 

How are my personal data processed?

The vaccination campaign relies on the collection and processing of personal data. The data protection notice (Pdf, 87 Kb) explains how the personal data of guests and participants is used and where to ask questions about data protection.

I'm getting vaccinated! And you? Join in and send your photo!
Click here to participate

Last update

FAQ Vaccination

Stratégie de déploiement

Je suis frontalier travaillant au Luxembourg, où serai-je vacciné?

Chaque pays de l'UE reçoit les vaccins attribués en fonction du nombre de résidents. Vous recevrez donc votre vaccin dans le pays où vous vivez.

Depuis le 5 juillet 2021, les frontaliers âgées de 18 ans et plus ans ont la possibilité de s’inscrire en ligne sur 3 listes d’attente séparées pour manifester leur intérêt de se faire vacciner volontairement contre la COVID-19 avec le vaccin Vaxzevria (AstraZeneca)Janssen (Johnson & Johnson) ou un vaccin mRNA. Pour vous inscrire, rendez-vous sur impfen.lu

Général

Quels vaccins sont actuellement disponibles contre la COVID-19?

4 vaccins anti-coronavirus ont reçu l'autorisation de mise sur le marché de l'EMA, l'Agence européenne des médicaments, et le feu vert de la Commission européenne quant à leur utilisation. Ce processus est très important, car il garantit la sécurité et la qualité des vaccins ainsi que leur efficacité.

Le 21 décembre 2020, l'EMA a émis un avis positif sur le vaccin de BioNTech/Pfizer, qui a ensuite été approuvé par la Commission européenne. Ce vaccin a été administré pour la première fois au Luxembourg, le 28 décembre 2020. Entre-temps, le vaccin de Moderna a également été approuvé le 6 janvier 2021, et notre pays a été le premier État membre de l'Union européenne à être livré en vaccins Moderna. Le vaccin d'AstraZeneca a été approuvé par l'EMA le 29 janvier 2021. Le vaccin de Janssen a été approuvé le 11 mars et sera bientôt distribué au Luxembourg et aux États membres de l'UE. Notre pays dispose à l'heure actuelle de 3 vaccins anti-coronavirus sûrs pouvant être administrés dans le cadre de sa stratégie vaccinale.

D'autres vaccins COVID-19 sont encore en lice pour être soumis à approbation par l'EMA. Il s'agit notamment du vaccin de Curevac, Novavax ou encore le Sputnik V. 

Le vaccin contre le coronavirus est-il sûr?

Les vaccins COVID-19 sont développés selon les mêmes exigences réglementaires strictes en matière de qualité, de sécurité et d'efficacité pharmaceutiques que tout autre médicament.

Avant d'être mis sur le marché, le vaccin parcourt plusieurs étapes qui vont des tests rigoureux où la qualité du vaccin est contrôlée à l'approbation par l'Agence européenne des médicaments (EMA) en passant par une évaluation scientifique réalisée par les autorités de régulation (EMA et les autres régulateurs des pays de l'UE/EEE) avant que son efficacité soit testée au moyen de recherches d'abord en laboratoire et ensuite sur des personnes volontaires. À noter que le programme d'essais cliniques doit être réalisé conformément aux procédures et protocoles établis par les autorités de régulation. Il doit également être approuvé dans chaque cas par une commission d'éthique médicale.

Qui est responsable en cas de retentissement négatif des vaccins COVID-19 sur la santé publique?

Comme pour tout autre vaccin, c'est le fabricant du vaccin qui est, en principe, responsable en cas d'effets négatifs néfastes pour la santé publique. Encore faut-il que l'effet néfaste soit dû à un problème au niveau du produit même, de sa composition ou de sa production.

Le médecin qui procède à la vaccination est également civilement responsable, s'il commet une erreur dans la manipulation ou l'administration du vaccin, et si cette erreur est à l'origine des effets secondaires.

Enfin, lorsqu'une vaccination est imposée par une disposition légale ou réglementaire ou recommandée par l'État, et que cette vaccination cause la mort de la personne vaccinée ou entraîne dans son chef une incapacité physique permanente, l'État répond du dommage, sans préjudice des actions qui pourraient être exercées conformément au droit commun, et dans la mesure où le dommage n'est pas indemnisable en vertu du code des assurances sociales. 

La vaccination contre la COVID-19 sera-t-elle obligatoire?

Non. Comme pour la plupart des vaccins dans notre pays, la vaccination contre la COVID-19 sera effectuée sur base volontaire. 

J'ai déjà eu la COVID-19, est-ce que je peux quand même me faire vacciner?

Une personne qui a été en contact avec le coronavirus peut se faire vacciner contre ce même virus. En effet, il est impossible à l'heure actuelle d'affirmer qu'une personne qui a déjà été en contact avec la COVID-19 reste immunisée contre la maladie. Il n'est pas non plus possible, en cas d'immunisation, de prévoir la durée de cette immunisation. Des réinfections ont malheureusement été signalées. 

Le vaccin protège-t-il également en cas de mutations du virus?

Les mutations n'affectent pas nécessairement l'efficacité du vaccin contre le virus.

La communauté scientifique et les autorités de réglementation surveillent si le coronavirus évolue au fil du temps et si les vaccins peuvent protéger les personnes contre l'infection par de nouvelles variantes. S'il s'avère qu'il faut procéder à des ajustements, la science apportera une réponse à cette question, comme cela se pratique pour d'autres virus auxquels nous nous sommes adaptés.

Est-ce que je dois me faire vacciner tous les ans contre le coronavirus?

Il n'est à ce stade pas possible de répondre à cette question, alors que nous ne disposons pas de suffisamment de recul pour connaître exactement la durée de l'immunisation obtenue grâce au vaccin, pour savoir si cette immunisation couvre les différentes mutations du virus ou si celles-ci exigent que la composition du vaccin soit régulièrement modifiée comme c'est p.ex. le cas pour la grippe saisonnière. 

Après la vaccination, suis-je immédiatement immunisé?

Environ 2 semaines après une première dose de vaccin, la réponse immunitaire initiale permet d'acquérir une protection partielle contre l'infection. Cependant, il faut attendre 2 semaines après la deuxième dose de vaccin pour que la réponse immunitaire soit complète et que la protection contre l'infection soit optimale.

Comme pour d'autres vaccins, le vaccin COVID-19 n'offre pas une protection à 100% même après la deuxième vaccination. Il est toujours possible de s'infecter malgré tout. La vaccination permettra d'atténuer les symptômes de la maladie.

Il est important de continuer à respecter les gestes-barrières afin d'éviter le plus d'infections possibles.

Est-ce que je peux arrêter de respecter les gestes barrière après avoir été vacciné?

Non. Même après votre vaccination, il faudra continuer à respecter les gestes barrière et autres mesures de protection, et ce aussi longtemps que la crise sanitaire n'aura pas été maîtrisée de manière efficace notamment via l'immunité collective. En effet, il n'est pas exclu à l'heure actuelle qu'une personne vaccinée ne puisse plus être porteuse du virus. Or, cela prendra du temps avant de parvenir à cette immunité. Il faut qu'un nombre suffisant de personnes soit immunisé.

Je me fais vacciner! Et vous? Vous aussi, participez et envoyez votre photo!
Cliquez ici pour participer

Dernière modification le